Family, Surrogacy

Boy Oh Boy…..

In October I traveled to Israel to spend ten days with Ronen and Gadi. This trip was monumental because I let them in on a secret a few of us already knew. I let them know that after all this time of unsuccessful implants and complications that they were having a boy! We had even discussed the option of gender selection on the embryos because they really wanted a little boy. I continually told them that because they wanted a boy so badly that most likely they would have a girl. Guess I was wrong.

It's a boy!We had a cake cutting party so all of their friends and family could find out the gender at the same time. Needless to say everyone was overly excited.

The time spent in Israel reminded me how we are all such a perfect match. It wasn’t one of those visits where I felt like a guest, it was time spent reminding me that I was as much a part of their family as they are of mine. There wasn’t the formality of “this is Christina our Surrogate” it was “this is Christina my pregnant wife”. Gadi referred to me as his pregnant wife on more than one occasion. I thought it was so much better than “this is our oven”. The three of us all fit so well together and I couldn’t imagine it any other way.

I’ve had a close bond with Ronen since the very beginning. We talk nearly every day and when we don’t talk, I feel like there is something missing. I don’t know that this is an unhealthy relationship though. It’s just what it’s supposed to be. The time spent in Israel allowed me to bond with Gadi much more. I now know that he is just as wonderful as Ronen views him. Gadi and I are so much alike and I never would have known this had we not spent the time together. Everything happens for a reason and in the order it’s supposed to.

Ronen, Gadi and myself

There is no way I can explain the beauty of Israel in a few sentences or paragraphs. It is much more beautiful than I could ever explain. I completely understand why they choose to live where they do. It was increasingly more difficult to come back to the frozen tundra of North Dakota with every passing day. How could I leave breakfast on the beach and 80 degree weather to come back to the reality of a long winter and far too much snow? We had even discussed me remaining in Israel until the birth of the baby and having Jayde come on one of the next flights. Reality just sucks some times and I came back to the snow and cold.

The pregnancy remains the same. Morning sickness constantly and this little guy must be practicing his soccer skills. He is breach and hasn’t moved from his comfortable position yet. Hopefully he will flip around on his own soon.

 

Leave a Reply

