Family, Surrogacy

First Trimester……

I remember when I was pregnant with Jayde and how things weren’t any different from when I wasn’t pregnant. Well 16 years and a totally different pregnancy bring a totally different set of issues! There are days when I still find it hard to believe that this FINALLY worked. I have said since the beginning that things happen when they are meant to and that it will work when it was meant to work.

When I saw the first ultrasound and saw the heart beating, I was just dumbfounded. I couldn’t believe it had finally worked. I asked the ultrasound tech if they were really sure what we were seeing was a strong steady heart beat. I still can’t believe that I asked that question. I knew the answer but it was still so hard to believe it had worked.

I’ve heard stories of other people being so sick and I couldn’t really relate because my pregnancy with Jayde was super easy. This pregnancy; however, is totally different. I figured that I was pregnant when I couldn’t stay awake for more than a few hours at a time but I didn’t want to get my hopes up. When it was confirmed that the pregnancy was real I was still extra cautious because I wanted to ensure I did everything to protect this baby for Ronen and Gadi.

A month went by and I was still needing multiple naps each day and I was going to bed right after dinner each night. Then to top it off EVERYTHING was making me sick. Smells, movement, eating, the thought of eating or moving. EVERYTHING! Since I didn’t have any sickness with Jayde, I feel that I was just being over-dramatic and whiny. I was able to find foods that I could eat safely (pasta and vegetables) and was able to find the foods to avoid (everything but pasta and vegetables) and was working on getting through the first trimester.

Fast forward two months and here I am, still pregnant! Did you read that? Still pregnant. This baby knows the time is right and that Ronen and Gadi need this baby. I still have the same issues with continuous nausea and still have the issues with all of the same foods I had previously. I’m still taking daily naps but manage to only need one nap per day. Maybe it’s my age or maybe it’s because I’ve not been successfully pregnant in over 16 years that make this pregnancy so different. The only thing that is the same is that you really can’t tell that I’m pregnant yet. I’m currently one pound under my pre implant weight and I am still able to wear the jeans I was wearing prior to getting implanted.

We have done all the necessary testing and found out that this baby is perfectly healthy. Excessively active, but perfectly healthy. The Nuchal Translucency test indicated that the chances of Down’s Syndrome are 1 in over 10,000 and the same chances for Trisomy.  I’ve also found out the gender but I can’t indicate on here because Ronen and Gadi don’t know yet.

I will be traveling to Israel to visit them at the end of October for ten days and I will let them in on the little secret then. It’s harder not using gender specific indicators when I’m the only one that knows the gender than I thought it was going to be. When I am there, they will have a cake cutting party so that everyone finds out the gender at the same time.

Next week will mark week 16. It’s still crazy to think I’m nearly half way there. I really can’t wait until Ronen and Gadi have this baby to take home with them. I think they will make such amazing parents and this baby will never have a lack of love in his/her life.

Leave a Reply

