Surrogacy

Off To Surgery…..

I showed up at the Emergency Room at about 3AM in more pain than I could ever remember but yet somehow I had managed to convince myself that there was nothing wrong. So much so that I hadn’t even let anyone know I had left for the ER. I didn’t bother to wake Jayde, call Jen or notify my parents; all because I had convinced myself that this was all a normal process of being implanted and the pain would subside once the doctor pushed on my stomach a few times.

After getting pain medication via IV every hour on the hour and not a minute late for five hours without the pain subsiding, the doctor did an ultrasound and knew he needed to discuss what he had found with the on call OB Surgeon as well as Dr. Liberach from CReATe. My left fallopian tube was massive and the ultrasound indicated there wasn’t a viable pregnancy in my uterus. The ER doctor was baffled since I had been implanted, IVF, he sort of figured there was no way I could have an ectopic pregnancy since the embryos were “implanted.” His reasoning were they were placed where they needed to be and that should be where they stayed! Guess even doctors learn something new every day.

The surgeon came in and informed me that I was going to be taken into surgery for a salpingectomy to have my left fallopian tube removed because I had an ectopic pregnancy. This would be done via laprascope and I’d have three small incisions. There would be a very small chance that I’d need to be cut open but this would be a “small” chance. I told the doctor that while she was in there, go ahead and take both tubes because there was no way I was going to have any more children of my own. apparently people say things when they are in pain and no matter how many times I insisted that she seriously take BOTH, she would only take one. Now there is only 1-2% of 1-2% that I will ever have an ectopic pregnancy via IVF for surrogacy again. If it should happen on the right side on my next implant, I think I need to buy some lottery tickets!

Surgery went flawlessly. I woke up in pain but the nurse was there feeding me ice-chips. What is the purpose of that anyway? Hello! I’m in pain and you think a few pieces of frozen water are going to help? Awe it really wasn’t all that bad. I was uncomfortable, but only when I would breathe. I know a bad habit; in and out, over and over again, every day! After about an hour I was taken back to my room where my dad was waiting for me. I found out from a friend that he said it was really hard to see me in pain, laying in a hospital bed. Once the doctor came in and gave me pain meds, I was all giggly and dad was able to breathe a sigh of relief again.

Dad stayed with me for a few hours until I fell asleep. I woke up and it was time to go home.  I think it’s crazy how they cut you open, expect you to get up and move around and then send you on your way with a bottle of narcotics. Specific instructions to come back if things aren’t “normal.” How are you supposed to know what is normal or not when you’ve never had a procedure such as this? I guess I will find out……

Leave a Reply

