Random Act of Kindness

Apple Cider for Travis….

My nephew Travis told me at Thanksgiving that I make the BEST apple cider.  I already knew this so I told him…..”Ya I know!”  I didn’t think about it again until I was on my way from home from work today and was thinking I had better hurry up and figure out what I was going to do for my Random Act of Kindness today because the day was almost over.  I called Travis to see if he was working and he said until 11PM so I knew I had 4 hours to get working on my apple cider.

My Grandma gave me this recipe and since it rocks so much, I’d like to share it with you.

  • 1 Gallon Apple Cider (preferably Honey Crisp Apple Cider)
  • 1 Quart Orange Juice
  • 1 Quart Cranberry Juice (not cranberry juice cocktail)
  • 12-14 Cinnamon Sticks
  • 1/4 Cup Whole Allspice
  • 1/4 Cup Whole Cloves

I run this through one of those mega size coffee pots and place everything in the top basket so when it perks all of the juice runs through the spices but if you don’t have one, wrap the spices in cheese cloth and simmer it on the stove for about 30-45 minutes (the house smells great when you do it this way).    The Cinnamon sticks can also be used when you serve the cider as decoration in the cups. I end up making this a few times over the winter and take this to work with me in the mornings instead of coffee.  Makes my car smell so good in the morning too!

I made a batch of cider and called my nephew once again and told him on his way home from work there was a gift of cider waiting for him.  He was extremely excited for his gift.  Who would have guessed that a gallon of cider would make a 23-year-old this excited?

Leave a Reply

